Articles / Showcase / The art of sound

12 Things Large Professor Revealed About His Legendary Career By Ariel Cherie

True School Tuesday:Large Professor Is Hip-Hop's Main Source (thumbnail)

Large Professor took to his computer and answered questions from the public on Reddit for their “Ask Me Anything” segment. He touched on everything from working with Nas to Big L to what he’s missed out on in his career. Take a look at his 12 most revealing facts.

On where his name comes from:

“A combination of 5% Nation names and just the street talkin slick style of rap at the time. As street kids, we exalted ourselves to make ourselves feel better about our situation. We created big shoes so that one day we would be able to walk in them.”

On becoming protege to late producer, Paul C:

“I think Paul saw the hunger that I had. I was…adamant about making beats, getting records and blending them together and very meticulous, as he was, with the proper structuring of tracks. We shared that meticulous mindset where everything had to be neat and together. He saw that and just passed me the torch.”

“My production hasn’t really changed. I’ve grown into new technology and can manifest my original styles and recipes using it.”

“Some producers of today I like are Jake 1, Justice League, Jahlil Beats… For rappers, I like Stalley, Action Bronson, Nipsey Hussle… also, new guys like Eyes Low and Kendrick”

On what sampling has done for and to hip hop:

“Being that hip hop started as a record-based culture, the art of sampling preserved the original recipe of what hip hop was… with lawsuits, people like Premier got more creative and “chopped” it up and that was a skill we learned as DJs. People these days are showing more musicianship. Being that I come from the origins, I’ll always appreciate samples.

I have felt that I wasn’t able to go bananas with samples. I feel restrictions. Main Source was such an insanely sample based project. Just having to draw back to single loops for songs is one example of how it’s been restrictive for me.”

On working with Big L:

“Lord Finesse brought Big L to my studio. He just stood there quiet until it was time for him to rhyme. And that’s when he just blossomed on all the tracks. He just unleashed when the beats came on, it was crazy.”

On finding inspiration:

the-bronx-nyc

“A lot of the time, I just get on the train and ride through the Bronx. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Walk around the streets of New York. And also, just spend time in the studio. A nice, clean studio.

I always go into my record collection and study it for how the industry was…even in the 50′s and 60′s… Bobby Sherman and his whole craze…and compare it to today… and of course listen to the new sounds in the industry”.

On passed opportunities:

“I wish I could have been a part of Jay-Z’s “Reasonable Doubt”. I was supposed to get him some beats for it, but was just so busy at the time.”

On his favorite collab:

“The most recent one with Cormega, Action Bronson, Roc Marciano and Saigon called M.A.R.S. from my last project Professor @ Large”.

“Yeezus” or “Born Sinner”:

j-cole-born-sinner1

“I would say Born Sinner. I actually used the sample Kanye used for Bound 2 (the best song on Yeezus) for a song I have named “Bowne”.

On having a protege/mentor relationship with Nas:

“Sometimes it flips, though. I’m a studio dude who likes to churn out music, and he’s the one with the marketing and industry experience. It’s a mutual mentor/protege relationship.”

On what’s coming up next:

“Currently working on a project with Cormega named “Mega Philosophy” alongside other various productions. My next project will be named “In the Loop”.

Leave a Reply

